Immigration Voice - Forums - Legacy
Register Get Involved Contact Lawmakers Advocacy Discussion Image Image Image Image

Go Back   Immigration Voice > Non Immigrant Visas : H1, L1, H4, L2, F1 etc > Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation
Click to log in with Facebook
Out of status, employment gap and status revalidation Gap in employment(paystubs) and the resulting problems during status transfer and green card filing.

Old 08-23-2007, 09:23 AM
Priority Date
:
N/A
Category
:
N/A
I140 Mailed Date
:
Chargeability
:
Processing Stage
:
N/A
I485 Mailed Date
:
Compare
achopra76 is on a distinguished road
Post Gap In H1, Physician

hi everyone,
i wondered if someone could help me find answer to the following questions.

I am a Physician and currently in Residency program which is for 3 years. my residency ends on 30th September 2008 and i have H1b status. I have been offered Fellowship in my desired specialty but it starts on 1st January 2009, therfore there is a gap of 3 months between the end of my current job and beginning of my next job.
so my questions are:
1. H1 petition which I will file for my fellowship starting 1st jan 2009 would be an extension of my current H1 or would I have to file a new H1?

2. suppose I find a job for 3 months gap period at the same institution where I have got my fellowship (keeping in mind that decription of this job would be a little different from what i will be starting from 1st jan 2009), would i have to file for 2 different H1B petitions (one for 3 month period starting 1st oct 2008 and the other for fellowship starting 1 st jan 2009).