Immigration Voice

Immigration Voice (https://archive.immigrationvoice.org/forum/index.php)
-   Non-Immigrant Visas (https://archive.immigrationvoice.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Questions on L1 Eligibility? (https://archive.immigrationvoice.org/forum/showthread.php?t=16315)

astra.castra 12-26-2007 03:05 PM

Questions on L1 Eligibility?

I have a masters degree from a US univ with a work exp of 3 years and 9 months (3 years on H1 and 9 months on OPT). Now, I am working in India for a small software startup company as the Vice President of Operations for the past 6 months without any pay since the company’s revenues are currently negligible. Their parent company is in US with revenues of about 3 million USD per year. Now the US parent company wants to apply for my L1A after 6 more months, since I would fulfill one of the basic requirements of L1 visa by then.

My specific questions include:
1. What documentation would I need to request from my US company to judge the suitability of applying for an intra-company transfer? I know that a parent, a branch, a subsidiary or an affiliate can sponsor L1, but I want to be certain that my case belongs to L1. In Section 1 of L classification supplement form to I-129, Points 9 and 10 ask for details on stock ownership and managerial control between the two companies. Obviously these are confidential documents from the company’s perspective, but if I know what specific forms to ask for then it will be up to them to share those docs with me or not.
2. Would I qualify for an L1A since I am working as the Vice President of Operations? I do not have any direct reports to me as there is one Chairman & CEO of the Indian company, one Vice President of Human Resources and I am the Vice President of Operations managing the Indian office. As per the L1 manual, my job belongs to the Manager of Essential Function (Operations) category, but I read that there are very stringent documentation requirement for L1A.