PDA

View Full Version : Why do IT consultants get to skip over US STEM graduates in the Green Card line?

saintforlife
03-17-2014, 05:32 AM
My background: EB2 category - Priority date is Sep 2012. I have a Master's Degree in Engineering from the US. Been in this country for 10 years, the last 7 of it on a H1B visa. So while I stare at the Sep 2004 priority date for EB2 India without any idea of when I'll ever get my Green Card, I hear stories of people from Infosys, Wipro and other consulting companies completing their 6 years of H1B, going back home to India just for a year, and then coming back and filing in EB1 category (under some imaginary International Manager category which makes them eligible for EB1) and getting their Green Card in only a couple of months. I think that is just bull shit, not the least because I don't have that option. I can't help but think that my career has regressed because of my choice to go to graduate school here. If I had just been another IT worker, I'd have my permanent residency and could be thinking about other things in life.

So why does the US immigration system penalize folks who actually went to graduate school here, paid tuition fees to universities, lived in this country for longer period of time, and paid more taxes, compared to these IT workers who come directly from India? What makes this IT consultant better than me? Why does he get to skip over me in line? Is it because he has a made-up international manager title? The whole think stinks to high heaven.

I hope any new immigration bill addresses this glaring ridiculousness of pooling all the people and all professions from one country together when giving out Green Cards.

pappu
03-17-2014, 07:53 AM
These kinds of topics are only good to fill up pages on forums so that more people write about them and increase page views and revenue of the website. But in reality it is a topic where nobody wants to complain.