PDA

View Full Version : Columbia Journalism Student working on Master's

jduaine
11-15-2012, 10:02 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a student at Columbia Journalism School working on a master's thesis on the affects of deportation on families. I'm interested in finding and speaking with families in the New York City area who are facing problems with deportation here in America. Whether a father or mother; wife or husband; grandmother or grandfather; aunt or uncle, I want examine what happens to families when they experience losing a loved one to deportation, or the fear they experience at the chance that a loved one may be deported. I want to become close with the family, and document their lives after their loved one is deported; leading up to it; or if they end up being able to stay.

I'd like to tell the story about what life is like after a family member is gone - who has to pay the bills after the person is gone if they were helping before? How does a family member explain to a child that they won't be seeing their aunt for a long time to come? I will be conducting interviews with families and taking photographs regularly throughout a period of a few months leading up to my deadline in March. I want to get as close to them as I can as to tell their story as accurately as I can. For example, if they are going through a deportation now, I'd like to sit in on the court hearings to see how they deal with things.