PDA

View Full Version : Indian Passport Renewal

as469
02-19-2012, 01:29 PM
Hi all,
I apologize if this not the place to post this but am hoping that your experiences might help me. I am a student on F-1 visa. I lost my passport and I-94 on 12/05/2011. The passport had expired on 11/08/2011. Owing to this, I was unable to extend my I-20 which expired on 12/31/2011. I am working with my schools ISO to try and apply for re-instatement. I have spoken to immigration lawyers who give me a strong chance of re-instatement. But the Indian consulate (DC) requires proof of legal status for renewal of passport. I am within the 60 day grace period according to my ISO. Is there any way that I can obtain at least a short validity passport. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

The Alchemist
02-19-2012, 02:28 PM
...tried to go to the consulate in person? Don't you have copies of your pp with the visa stamp? Was your visa valid beyond the pp expiration date or is that expired too?

Hi all,
I apologize if this not the place to post this but am hoping that your experiences might help me. I am a student on F-1 visa. I lost my passport and I-94 on 12/05/2011. The passport had expired on 11/08/2011. Owing to this, I was unable to extend my I-20 which expired on 12/31/2011. I am working with my schools ISO to try and apply for re-instatement. I have spoken to immigration lawyers who give me a strong chance of re-instatement. But the Indian consulate (DC) requires proof of legal status for renewal of passport. I am within the 60 day grace period according to my ISO. Is there any way that I can obtain at least a short validity passport. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

as469
02-20-2012, 02:39 PM
Thanks for your response.
...tried to go to the consulate in person?