PDA

View Full Version : priority date while in india due to h1b restamping rejection

sanjib101
01-17-2012, 01:38 PM
dear all,

i came to India for a vacation in may 2011 and while h1b restamping my visa got rejected in 221g stage.now as i understand by next month my prority date in EB-2 will be current.at this stage what best thing i should do.should i need to apply for CP or i have some other option.please suggest me .

thanks

greencard.wait
01-17-2012, 02:57 PM
discuss with immigration lawyer.

Rb_newsletter
01-17-2012, 03:23 PM
dear all,

i came to India for a vacation in may 2011 and while h1b restamping my visa got rejected in 221g stage.now as i understand by next month my prority date in EB-2 will be current.at this stage what best thing i should do.should i need to apply for CP or i have some other option.please suggest me .

thanks
I am not an expert. Whatever I say is just my understanding. Please consult an attorney.

If your 140 was filed with AOS option you can't just apply in CP. You have to amend (or convert not sure about technical word) the approved 140 for CP. And the turn around time to amend 140 may not be as faster as you wish.

Other choice is "Attorney certified 140". Please refer to link "http://imminfo.com/News/Newsletter/2012-01-15/expansion-of-ac-I-140-processing.html".

Expansion of AC I-140 processing in India

Effective January 1, 2012, all immigrant visa processing in India will be done at two offices only: New Delhi and Mumbai. With Mumbai taking over the immigrant visa processing for Chennai, this means that attorney certified I-140 processing will be available to substantially more applicants than had been so previously.