PDA

View Full Version : URGENT help required

sidd_k2002
02-10-2009, 06:10 PM
Hello All,
I am in a very odd situation which i would like to explain and get help from people here. I am a computer science student,who came on a F1 visa in USA in Jan 2007. I studied hard, and got good grades , and thereby got an internship in a good company immediately after 1 year , in Feb 2008. I was working on CPT(Curicullar practical training i.e work permit),which was full time, until Jan 2009 ,when i graduated.
Now i want to call my parents on a Vistors B category visa for my graduation.
I have a full time job since one year, so i am thinking of the fact , whether i could send a sponsorship letter to them in order for them to visit for my graduation ceremony. I have already taken a invitation letter from my school to invite them. Following are the points of my concern.

1: It was shown 2 years back that my father sponsored me for my education. So is it fair enough to show that i am sponsoring him immediately after 2 years?. Please note that i m still on F1 visa, and working now on my OPT. (My H1 will be filed this time in April 2009)
2: I read in a forum that students cannot sponsor there parents for there visitors visa for there graduation, because they are the ones ,who take there sponsorship, when they come for there studies. Is this true enough, even if i am working for 1 year now.
3: My father has already retired from a bank job, so he is not working. All his funds are in FDs (about 7 lacs), with a liquid cash of around 8 lacs in the bank, and a pension amount of 9,000 rs per month( which is quite low to tell to the visa officer). Is it okay for him to show his self sponsorship for him and my mother in this case? Will these funds be okay? If he is retired then will his income be not asked by the officer.