PDA

View Full Version : Should I port from Eb3 to Eb2? Please advise!

natasha_reddy
06-23-2011, 04:42 PM
Hello Friends,

First of all, I would like to thank each one of you for your valuable contributions to this forum, forums like these prove to be very conducive for people like me who are in dire need of immigration advise. So, here is my situation..

I'm working as a typical "Programmer Analyst" for a Desi consulting company. My labor was approved under Eb3 in May 2009 (since I didn't qualify for EB2 then) and my I140 a month later. I will be completing 5 years of work experience under the same employer this October and most importantly with my PD of 2009 under EB3 there is not much hope left, therefore I'm seriously considering to move up to Eb2. I have a 4 year Bachelor's degree in Computer Science, so I assume it's one of the qualifying factors.

My employer was not thrilled about promoting me and starting a new EB2 application, of course he wants to make money off of me as long as he can! (I can still try and convince him, but I'm not optimistic about it) Therefore, I'm in the process of finding a new employer who can start my EB2 process.(most probably another consultancy)

FYI: I have 1.8 years of H1b left and a good attorney reference.

Could any one of you please advise on:

-How I can achieve this?
-Other Criteria s I need to qualify for?

Also, experienced attorney references that you may have? Any bit of information is much appreciated. Thanks a lot for your time and patience.

PS: I work in Bay area and make 85K per year.

Sincerely,
Natasha

bugsbunny
06-23-2011, 04:57 PM
Hi Natasha
The process is not too complicated.

porting within the same company can be tricky, there has to be 50% difference in job duties. If you browse through the forums you will find threads discussing this in details

If you move on to another employer, make sure they file the H1 transfer before you leave your current job. This is after LCA process.