PDA

View Full Version : Porting EB3 to EB2 with Same employer

gnanap
04-01-2011, 11:44 AM
Hi All,
I am planning to port my eb3 to eb2 application.

Unfortunately I (having bachelor degree with 16 yrs education) was NOT having 5 yrs of experience (fell short 3 months) before joining the current employer so we had to filed it in EB3.

Currently I have gained 7 yrs of experience in the current employer. With total 12 yrs of experience, is it possible to file my Labor/GC application in EB 2 in different role/title (may be manager or something different) with the same employer (by using the experience gained in the current employer). My employer has promised me that he will provide any support (paper work) required this.

Please advice me if this is going to work or NOT.

I have seen the following thread where someone has ported eb3 to EB2 with same employer by putting the experience in the current employer.

http://immigrationvoice.org/forum/forum88-priority-dates-transfers-and-post-140-approval-options/1954521-eb3-eb2-porting-140-approved-same-employer.html

Please let me know.
Thanks!
Prakash

Robert Kumar
04-01-2011, 11:48 AM
To my observation and understanding, there is a lots of risk in a case like this, with same employer including very high chance for audits, as I realized this from the other thread about 1-2 months back. New employer may be ok, but with same, there seems to be lots of headache as my employer also said, and is not doing it.
Sorry, I wish I could be more positive, but its purely based on informations from lawyers and threads here.

Sachin_Stock
04-01-2011, 12:01 PM
Hi All,

Unfortunately I (having bachelor degree with 16 yrs education) was NOT having 5 yrs of experience (fell short 3 months) before joining the current employer so we had to filed it in EB3.