PDA

View Full Version : Can I travel on old AP while new AP is pending

manuseeksgc
08-16-2010, 08:30 PM
I have my old AP valid till mid-oct... and new AP renewal is pending...I have plans to travel out of country for 3 months...can I Leave the country on Old AP and come back on new one ( assuming my friend will mail the new AP to me)

Please suggest.

Thanks Much!

tamil12
08-16-2010, 08:41 PM
I think you can't use your new AP...but u can return back with your current AP validity period.
I am not a lawyer...

manuseeksgc
09-18-2010, 02:18 PM
I recently left the country for 4 months... my AP was approved the next day and arrived in the mail 3 days after I left. Current AP expires in 1 month from now and the new one is Valid from the expirry date onwards for a year.

Do I still need to make a return trip before the expiry of the current AP? Or Can my wife whos still in US and who has plans to join me in 2 months from now can bring the new AP with her to India. Will I be able to return to US using the new AP in 4 months from now?

I m confused with different opinions. My lawyer suggests that there is no need for me to come back. But the response on this forum and others has different opinions. :(

reachinus
09-18-2010, 03:54 PM
As tamil12 said you cannot use the new ap which was approved after you left. If you use that you enter you are inviting unnecessary problems for yourself. Enter before the old one expires and the use the new one for your future trips.

manuseeksgc
09-18-2010, 04:45 PM
I respect what you guys are suggesting... but the following is what I heard from my lawyer:

"I could not locate a USCIS memo with a clear answer to this question. However, based on my understanding of the law, I believe that as long as the new Advance Parole application is approved before the current one expires, ***** should be fine and he would not have to return to the USA. He could leave now and return in January with the new Advance Parole"

ken
09-18-2010, 06:55 PM