PDA

View Full Version : Cannot drive outside SC for up to 60 days!

brasil
07-29-2010, 08:20 PM
I’m a legal immigrant, I140 approved and on EB3 waiting list, priority date 04/2006. I need to renew my valid SC driver's license that will expire on 08/15/2010. Went to SC DMV today and they confiscated my valid SC drivers license card, issued a sheet of paper (Letter size) with letter head "Temporary driver's license card" without photo on it. This "document" is only valid in SC. This means that I cannot travel outside SC and May take up to 60 days to re-issue my SC DL card. I'm a professional electronic engineer and my work requires to travel outside the SC state. Why do I need to be punished? Just because I am a foreigner! This is an interesting story where the SC and other states illegal Immigration Reform Act is affecting legal immigrants very badly. Is all about illegal immigrants or there is a growing xenophobia in the USA? If you are a foreigner but legally in this country you are consider guilty until proven innocent? Or all immigrants are consider illegal?

gc_kaavaali
07-29-2010, 08:35 PM
Please contact your local senator and explain your problem. Probably he/she can help you.